1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Help me chose my first oscilloscope

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by NEoX, Aug 12, 2018 at 3:36 PM.

1. NEoX

NEoX New Member

Hi! I'm new here on forum!

So, I'm a student of electrical engineering and I want to buy an oscilloscope to learn more about stuff and have in mind some projects to do. At the moment I'm working on project "supervision of pellet furnace" with ESP8266 and automatic refilling. For that project I build my own schematic and board, but it has some problems and I want to debug it.
    So I need an oscilloscope, and also in next semester I have a course about oscilloscope and measure.

My budget is 450€ max!

1. I was looking at some models like Rigol ds1054z but i don't know if this scope is best buy for that money in 2018. (I will unlock to 100MHz if still can and all other things like I2C,RS232...)

2. My main interest is digital electronic/microcontrollers/serial comunications (I2C,UART,RS232....)

3. I want to buy a product that I can use for long, long time as a student and to do hobby stuff with it and maybe one day for work

Please suggest me some oscilloscopes that will last.

Thanks!

Sorry if this topic doesn't belong here.

2. rjenkinsgb

rjenkinsgb Active Member

With that type of budget I'd go for a proper bench scope rather than any kind of USB/PC connected device.

The Siglent ones seem pretty good and you can get one from Siglent in Europe cheaper than they sell for on ebay.
    eg. a dual channel 200MHz for 339 Euro.
    https://www.siglenteu.com/digital-o...MI7ofkjeTp3AIVRbvtCh20NQWoEAAYASAAEgJ8LvD_BwE

You may be able to find cheaper than that from another European distributor.