Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Hakko 933 soldering iron temperature buttons

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stevegan

Hi all, newbie here...
I recently bought a Hakko 933 soldering iron on ebay as I needed to be able to solder some large power supply wires and I only had an Antex 18 watt iron. As it is 50 watts I thought it should be man enough for the job. However, it would barely melt the solder. After downloading the instruction manual I realised that the little button on the side with 390 on it, controls the temperature at 390 degrees so it wasn't hot enough for the job. The manual shows they do a whole set of buttons for different temperatures but searching on-line, I have not been able to find anyone that sells them. The 933 has now been replaced by a new model with adjustable temperature. Does anyone know where I can get these temperature buttons? Thanks in advance, Steve.
Hakkosmall.JPG

390°C should be more than hot enough. Are you sure you have the tip well tinned and are using an appropriate solder? Perhaps post a picture of the wires you are trying to solder and something for size reference.

390°C should be more than hot enough. Are you sure you have the tip well tinned and are using an appropriate solder? Perhaps post a picture of the wires you are trying to solder and something for size reference.