Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Good Beginner Micro Controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

psecody

well I am pretty new to the whole micro controller part of electronics (heck IC's still give me problems sometimes) but I was really wanting to get one to play around with and just experiment with. My first thought was to buy a BASIC 2 stamp with the board of education dev board but now I've been reading all these people talk about pic processors. What would the best micro controller be for a complete beginner just to do simple stuff with? Should I get the BASIC 2 or something else? Programming will be no big deal because I know C++, Java, Basic, and some others.

There are many ways to go.

Since you already know C++ I would suggest that you may be happier using a C language development system.

Look at the UBW (USB BIT WACKER) **broken link removed**. You can build the thing yourself of buy a ready made one from sparkfun for $25. The thing comes with a bootload that can download your compiled code over USB. The microchip C18 (student version) compiler is free as is the MPLAB development toolset.

If you want to run an in circuit debugger such as the ICD2 (and clones) you can use the UBW as a target. They run from about $35 (inchworm kit) to about $200 for USB based versions.
3v0

Last edited: