Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Getting started

Status
Not open for further replies.

Broz

I have some basic knowledge and experience in analog and digital circuits. The only programming experience I've had centers around Fortran. I understand that microcontrollers are powerful tools that I could use in a lot of my projects. I do a lot of PWM stuff and I understand that if I learn microcontrollers I could abandon my reliance on the old 555. The problem is, when I find a website that is suppose to give the beginner some insight, I find that it always starts just a little above my knowledge base. I can make sense of some it, but there is always something lacking in my knowledge to fully understand what's being discussed. My lack of knowledge on the subject also means I don't even know what questions to ask.

So I will just ask this: Where does a guy like me get started in microcontrollers? Any advice you experts could give will be appreciated. Thank you.

Fortran? Do people still use that? There are about a half dozen microcontrollers commonly used by hobbists. The two main ones are PIC and AVR. PIC is more widely documented, but AVR are better (sorry, just stirring up trouble here). I chose AVR for the Assembly Language, and richer instruction set. Like you, my programming was a little out dated, but I was more familiar with 6502 assembly, so figured it would be an easier transistion for me.