Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Getting best resolution from this circuit for my A/D converter

Status
Not open for further replies.

king.oslo

Hello there,

I have a temperature sensor going from 1000ohm to 1700ohm resistance.This is my first time with a/d c, so I lack experience.

I have been trying different setups on my breadboard, and I am only able to utilize a range of circa 0.9v of the available 5v using a resistor.

Surely, as my adc accepts voltages from 0-5V, I should be able to make a circuit that allows my sensor to vary voltage from 0-5V so I may use full resolution.

How do I do this?

Thanks.M

Just setup a voltage divider with resistors and your sensor to create the largest possible voltage swing based on that 700 ohm change.

voltage divider to maximize voltage ratio (as mentioned above) - followed by opamp to maximize voltage swing from 0-5V

edit: an example is provided on attachment

Attachments

• adc_conditioning.JPG
    adc_conditioning.JPG
    37.1 KB · Views: 303
  • plot.JPG
    plot.JPG
    10.6 KB · Views: 270
Last edited:
Hello,

Thank you for that. Yes, before I was only playing around with a voltage divider. It seems I get the biggest voltage ratio when resistance of r_bias is equal to the average of the highest and lowest resistance of r_var.