Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Garage Door Opener problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrMikey83

Hi, Newbie here.
Well, I guess i'll introduce myself first off.
My name is Mike Steinbach, i'm 20, and I live in Carbondale, IL
I'm taking Electronics Technologies at John A Logan College.
I have been into electronics since I could pick up a soldering iron and like to take stuff apart just to see what makes it tick.

OK, onto the door opener. I have a Raynor opener and a Pulsar Remote. Inside, the chip it uses is MC145026P QQVD9037 and has an 8 switch DIP for setting the code.

A couple years ago I took it apart and added a connection for a small button I made to put in my car under the dash and hid the remote on the inner firewall. ('97 Cougar) I had some problems with that and took it out. I now just keep it in the armrest. Lately, its been giving my trouble. When I press either button, often times nothing happens. It seems that on really hot days, it doesn't work and other days it works when it wants to. Sometimes, the right button will even open the left door! I still have the small plug (connector from a computer, like what the power light would connect to) and if the button fails to work, I use my key to short the pins on the connector on the back and it always works.