Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Full Bridge SMPS lost me my career in electronics...how solve?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Flyback

Hello,

I have difficulty getting work in electronics now because at a previous company where I worked as an Electronic Engineer in 2012, I revealed a design mistake in the company’s 250W Full Bridge converter. The designers felt that the mistake was merely a “tolerance issue”, and that I should have just kept quiet about it.
After I revealed the design error, the Engineering Manager was extremely angry with my boss (the Chief Engineer). The Chief Engineer was then very unhappy with me because he felt that the problem was simply a “tolerance issue” that would never have ‘reared its ugly head’. He felt that I should not have gone forward and revealed the error.
This Chief Engineer speaks regularly with recruitment consultants and of course provides my reference for work at this company (I don’t work there any more). As you’d expect ,my reference from this Chief Engineer is always absolutely terrible. I thus now have difficulty getting work in Electronics.

What should I do?

The Full Bridge converter in question is shown in two pdf’s below. I had to make it in two parts because otherwise you would have been able to see the company name in the schematic title window.

Spec of Full Bridge Converter:
P(out) = 250W
V(in) = 48V
V(out) = 26V
F(sw) = 300KHz.
Isolated secondary
Isolated feedback by optocoupler/TL431
Current mode.