Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Fans turn on when Humidity is different between two humidistats

Status
Not open for further replies.

Codymonster

Hey,
First time posting anything. Curious to learn something new.
I was wondering if this was possible. I want to use two humidistats.
If the difference between the two humidistats is greater than 2% then the fans will kick on.
Maybe 2-4 fans.

I have never built anything electronic before. So I'll be honest, I have no clue what I'm doing.
I can sorta understand some of the diagrams I've seen here. But I'm willing to learn.

Any suggestions?
Thanks everyone!!!

The concept sounds possible but there are a lot of things to consider.

You would need humidity sensors, not humidistats, because a humidistat, with an on/off output won't tell you the humidity level.

So you need two humidity sensors, with output levels that can be compared. They need to be accurate enough that they give readings much less than 2% different when the fans have done their job and equalised the humidity.

You needs some way of comparing the outputs of the two sensors, and when the difference is greater than 2%, activating an output.

You need something to make that output turn on the fans that you have. That will probably be a relay.

You need something to stop the fans turning on and off very quickly. The obvious thing to do there is to turn on the fans when the difference is 2% or more, but not turn them off until the difference is less than say 1.5%