Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Equipment for UHF monitoring

Status
Not open for further replies.

georges998

Hi,

I am a newbie to this site and to electronics in general. I need to monitor usage of UHF bands (400-800MHz). For this, I am planning to do the following:
1. Buy an omni-directional discone antenna
2. Hook it up with a frequency pre-selector box
3. Hook the output of pre-selector with lab style oscillloscope.

I want to monitor channels with bandwidth 6Mhz. Can you please check if my method is correct or not. Also, can someone please suggest me a frequency pre-selector box which will suit my requirements (6 Mhz monitoring in 400-800 Mhz range). I can hope to spend up to $1000 (as this is a funded project).

Also, can you please tell me if the off-shelf laboratory CRO would satisfy the requirement or not?
Thanks everybody.
George

What do you want to monitor the bands for? What type of observations do you want to make?

Generally you will need a low-noise, high-gain 400-800MHz amplifier to be able to observe anything with an oscilloscope. But an oscilloscope will just show a jumble of frequencies in a 6MHz bandwidth. It is unlikely you can make any meaningful measurements.

If you want to measure the particular frequencies active in each band, then a spectrum analyzer might be more appropriate.

What do you want to monitor the bands for? What type of observations do you want to make?