Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Effect of not using Zero-crossing on line

Status
Not open for further replies.

alphacat

I was looking for articles/Information about the effect of unplugging/turning off an apliance without using Zero-crossing, but since i'm new to it, i'm not familiar with related terms. (i'm not sure if EMI or EMC have something to do with it).

Could you please refer me to text and perhaps tell me the related terms?

In somewhat that matter, what is Electromagetic Conduction? (I know what Electromagnetic Induction is, but am not familar with the first term).

Thanks.

Last edited:
Is this example that i wrote correct please?

zc-jpg.34513

Attachments

• ZC.JPG
    ZC.JPG
    30.3 KB · Views: 445
Last edited:
Code:
[quote="alphacat, post: 802628"]Is this example that i wrote correct please?

Hi alpha,

I think you are getting yours 'terms' crossed.
Look at this link for definitions.

Electromagnetic compatibility - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

If a triac/scr is designed to switch at ZC of the mains wave, the power to load increases from zero as the mains phase sinewave voltage increases.

Without ZC detection, as you say, switching at mains peak could occur which would try to drive a high current thru the load.
This can cause electromagnetic radiation from the wiring and the load, especially if its an inductive load.

Last edited: