1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

digital clock circuit

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by obnikon, May 8, 2007.

  1. obnikon

    obnikon New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0
    Hi you all,
    I learn Electronics at school and I found it very intersting.
    I decided to improve my skills so I took on myself a nice project.

    Building a digital clock.
    How ever , I dont want to use ready chips.
    Only the basic compontes: Flip Flops,gates,decoders and Pulse Generators.
    Therfore there werent post that might helped me, all of them are contain
    kind of uknown compontes (to me).


    As a start I tought how to manage the first numeral seconds:
    (Units of Seconds (0))

    4 T FF
    all the T inputs will get +Vcc.
    Decoder BCD to 7SEG


    So please take a look at the picture that attached to the post
    and tell me if its right and how can I now connect it to the Ten Seconds(10).
    i know that when the "Q"'s value is 1010 I need to do a reset to the
    Units Seconds and add a pulse to the Ten seconds - but I dont know
    how....

    Please help by adding your circuits too.
    Thanks!!

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ayne

    Ayne New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    415
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Multan, Pakistan.
    Yeah Cheezzzzzzzz

    You can do the trick like this.. Circuit attached..
    I have attached ZIP file containing the Circuit Maker file...Just open the file in circuit maker.

    You can reset on desired position using AND gate.

    [​IMG]
    Hope it will help.

    Ur project is going to coastly...

    Muhamad Ahmed.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. obnikon

    obnikon New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0
    Im not allowed to use this 4024 componet.
    Can you replace it with FlipFlops and gates?
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. mneary

    mneary New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4,502
    Likes:
    67
    Location:
    California USA

    You can replace it with flip flops and gates. The 4024 data sheet contains the complete circuit diagram.

    Or google for "ripple counter".
     
  6. obnikon

    obnikon New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0
    Great , Thank you very much.
    I found the data sheet and it is contain the diagram :)

    Can you help me a little bit and now show me how to connect the
    seconds to minuts?

    And another question,
    why you connected the Output wire of U5A to the U1 MR and to the U3 CP ?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2007
  7. obnikon

    obnikon New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0
    From some reason the button of "edit" dissapear :confused:

    So, after lot of work I successed in doing the Seconds and Minutes.
    Now I have some problems with handling a 24 Hours.
    As you can see:
    01 11 21
    02 12 22
    03 13 23
    04 14
    05 15
    06 16
    07 17
    08 18
    09 19
    10 20


    As you can see the Units of the HOURS is used in different times.
    for example: 01,11,21 - they have the same Hours Unit
    so how can I know for sure when its 01 and when its 11 and when 21
    and the same to 02,12,22 and to 03,13,23 ?

    My guess is to check if the Tens Hours is equal 0
    if TRUE and the Units Hours equal to 10 (Not really equal) then:
    Reset Unites Hours
    ADD PULSE to Tens Hours

    and the same in case of 1X and 2X.
    Am I right?
     
  8. Sceadwian

    Sceadwian Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,047
    Likes:
    141
    Location:
    Rochester, US
    If the edit button doesn't show up on one of your posts simply click on the Refresh button in your browser and it should show back up. Happens to me all the time right after I make a post (I'm a serial editor =>)
     
  9. Narendrababu

    Narendrababu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    I just want a simple 24 hour led clock circuit
    will you please provide me.
     
  10. Souper man

    Souper man Guest

    well narendrababu, we cant just give you everything! you have to search the web a little bit and actually do some work. We cant do all the work while you reap the profits!
     
  11. Ayne

    Ayne New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    415
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Multan, Pakistan.
    Answer of ur first question,
    Make the same circuit as u have made for the Seconds and Divide ur Clock cycle with 60(u can use two or three Johnson Counter) and connect the output of the divider circuit with the circuit(CP) u have made for minutes.

    Answer of ur second question,
    For example u want to apply a condition. What will u use for it!!! U can use and gate.. We want that after the 9 there should be zero. At the position of 10 we connect the AND gate and it's output is connected with MR(of U1) and CP(of U3)..
    Now how it works,
    As the 10th pulse reaches at the U1 it will convert this input into binarray. it's output will be "0101" now AND gate will perform it's action it will makes it's output High because both of it's input are High. AND's gatte out will reset the U1 to Zero. And the Same time it will incriment into the 10's digit of Second..

    Hope this will help.
    My Poor English:(
     
  12. obnikon

    obnikon New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0
    Great,
    Is there any replacement for the Output wire of U5A to the U3 CP ?
    Ive been told that this wire doesnt allways works.
     
  13. geraldnatai

    geraldnatai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    self correcting digital clock

    hellow guys can anyone give me idea on how to design a self correcting digital clock.what it does is that it should be able to correct itself automaticaly by looking at its reference points wheather its GPS or whatever.help me guys!!!!
     
  14. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,236
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi,
    Whats your location.???
     

Share This Page