Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

controlling a circuit using a changing current

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveK

Hi - I'm a newbie

I am fitting a small wind turbine (in a school) that is being used to charge a 12V car battery; the voltage is kept at 12V - the current increases with windspeed (0A - 6A @ 12V).

I want a light-based display that will indicate the increasing current as the windspeed increases. I thought of using the changing current to control a flasher circuit (more current = faster flashes) or an led bar display, but despite hunting though my electronics library and the internet, I can't find any circuits controlled by current! Any suggestions welcome! Thanks Dave :)

Hi - I'm a newbie

I am fitting a small wind turbine (in a school) that is being used to charge a 12V car battery; the voltage is kept at 12V - the current increases with windspeed (0A - 6A @ 12V).

I want a light-based display that will indicate the increasing current as the windspeed increases. I thought of using the changing current to control a flasher circuit (more current = faster flashes) or an led bar display, but despite hunting though my electronics library and the internet, I can't find any circuits controlled by current! Any suggestions welcome! Thanks Dave :)

hi,
Look at the LM3914 led bar driver ic.
The technique is measure the voltage drop across a low value resistor.
The voltage drop is proportional to the current flowing thru the resistor.

OK.?:)