Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CNC lathe stepper motor issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

packet_loss

I'm not 100% sure where to put this thread, but I'm gonna try here first.

I'm building this lathe, mainly just to say I did. I've been a cnc programmer and tool and die maker for 18 years, so making a machine tool is a pretty natural inclination. However, this machine will never make a chip. I have worked in many shops where the owner let old manual machinery sit and rot even though they still work great. I've tried a thousand times to convince some of these people to let me turn the manual equipment into a full fledged, top notch CNC using fairly cheap stepper motors, driver boards and EMC Linux for the actual control. Not a single taker. I'm building this machine as a business card, more or less.

Since this machine will never actually cut anything I tried to get away with using small 5V motors to drive each axis, FAIL! Well, kinda fail? It was actually kinda of strange, what happened, I'm hoping you guys can shed some light. First, lemme show you a few pics, everybody likes project pr0n I hope.

Nice view from behind the spindle. That's the spindle on top and the Z axis stepper motor underneath. This was before the leadscrew was installed.
**broken link removed**

Underneath you get a fairly clear shot of the leadscrew and the nut that was eventually JB welded to the carriage base.
**broken link removed**

The 'new' stepper.
**broken link removed**