Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Circuit resonance

Status
Not open for further replies.

johntee

Hi,

I've posted a basic circuit on my NTL homepage and need some help with it.
Would a forum member take a look and maybe help answer my questions on the webpage. Here's the link:

**broken link removed**

Many thanks, I'm a novice on electronics but trying to learn a little each day.

John :)

There are formulae available to calculate the inductance of a coil.

Answers:-
1. Yes, but D3 will severly dampen the reasonance.

2. No, the magnet will just add a "DC" bias to the field. However, the core may saturate on one half cycle.

3. I don't know. It depends upon whther neodymium is conductive. If so there will be eddy current losses which will dampen the oscillation.

4. Yes, but you need to ensure that the amplitude of the oscillation is within the limits of the FET

5. When the FET turns on, the voltage across the coil will start at 12 Volt and then decay expontentially to a value determined by the resistor and the coil resistance (provided that the pulse is long enough)

When the FET is turned off, D3 will clamp the back EMF at about 0.6 Volt; this will decay to zero if the off pulse is long enough.

I suggest you use circuit simulation software to simulate the circuit so you can see the waveforms.

Thanks Len, great reply and really, really helpful, need to locate software now, maybe on a trial basis.

Kindest regards

John

John,
You're welcome.