Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Circuit layout for connecting PS/2 port to a PIC?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChemE

I am working on a project to interface a mouse and keyboard with an xbox 360 controller. I am still learning but I do understand PICs so much better after 2 weeks of learning. I believe I have figured out how to connect all of the buttons from the 360 controller to a PIC(lets assume I am using a PIC16F737) using 4x4066IC analog switches. So here are the questions that I have:

• Could someone please draw the schematic for connecting a PS/2 female port to a PIC16F737?
Please do not tell me to search Google for the answer because I have already and I have read whatever I could. Nothing I found through a google search was clear about connecting a PS/2 port to a PIC. A drawing of exctaly how to connect a PS/2 port to a PIC with an explanation of why any resistors or capacitors are used would be awesome.

• I need to attach 6 analog signals (coming from potentiometers) to my PIC16F737. Do I need to attach reference voltages to the + or - Vref spots to be able to use th analog (DAC) pins?

• Since I am attaching 6 analog signals to my PIC do I need a different Vref connection for each of the 6 signals?

• What exactly is a Vref for?

• The best way for me to learn about the analog pings on PICs is if someone could please draw a schematic for connecting analog signals to the analog pins of a PIC16F737 with a little explanation.