Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CD4017 Inverted count operation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

EdStraker

I am a hobbyist, and have dabbled in electronics for many years. An engineer I am not. I have made the "standard" 555/4017 sequencer circuit many times and in many forms. but I am stumped for a solution on this one.

In the "standard" configuration, the decade counter performs the Q0-Q9 count with one led on at a time. My question is, is there away to configure this circuit to have all LED's on, and perform the Q0-Q9 count turning the LED's off one at a time? And with minimal additional parts as space is at a premium with this particular project.

have attached a basic "standard" config schematic for reference.

My appologies for such a mundane first post. Thanks in advance for anyone who can assit me with this project.

Attachments

• FV5SQ5EJBGU19FQ.LARGE.jpg
    FV5SQ5EJBGU19FQ.LARGE.jpg
    63.5 KB · Views: 320
Yep;
Connect all the LEDs between outputs and V+, each LED with its own resistor.

That will only turn one off at a time and leave the others on.
The OP wants them to sequentially go off.

Last edited:
perform the Q0-Q9 count turning the LED's off one at a time?
What happens after all the LEDs are turned off?
Does it turn all of them on again and continue the sequence?

Probably not.

For an early B-series CMOS logic part, there is a big difference between 4.7 mA through only 1 pin at a time, and 4.7 mA through 9 pins all the time..