Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CAD Software, Simulators & Oscilloscopes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Musicmanager

Hi Guys

I wanted to offer a slightly differing perspective on the notion, too often declared, that any kind of tool that is computer generated HAS to be a 'Game'. I find it somewhat disturbing that the majority of folk I have come across who profess this opinion have never actually tried use one.

Most of you will know, but to be clear, I am a complete electronics novice with some experience, but very little expertise. I am often in awe of the members on here who can look at a circuit drawn on a piece of paper and know exactly what it will do or not do, or define, to 2 decimal places, the voltage or current present across the terminals of a particular component or some other 'genius' based analogy that folk like me can only guess.

However, if I can draw that circuit into a computer generated schematic and then run a simulator and poke about with the onboard oscilloscope I find I can learn quite a lot from the experience. I understand that the results are going to be a little arbitrary or approximate because of the averaged data the simulator must use to compute, but nevertheless, to a novice like me that is not as important as the information that is available.