Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

C programming structures: why do both these examples work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

blueroomelectronics

I'm just learning C (Microchips XC8) and its been great fun to learn.

Some examples show
Code:
struct Goo{
    int Day;
    int Month;
    int Year;
};
struct Goo Date;
But this works too. Are they the same thing?
Code:
struct {
    int Day;
    int Month;
    int Year;
} Date;
But I don't see a way to initialize that one. So
Code:
struct Goo { // declare placeholder
    int Day;
    int Month;
    int Year;
};
struct Goo Date = {2, 4, 5}; // create & initialize variable Date

Last edited:
In the first example you've created a named struct, which you then use as a type to define the variable Date.

In the second example you create an unnamed/anonymous struct, which you use to define the variable Date. Both variables have the same organisation and member variable names, but you can't use the latter as a function parameter or return type (but you can use it as a local or global variable, or within another struct or union if the compiler supports it).

Another example, where we are creating a named struct typedef
Code:
typedef struct{
    int Day;
    int Month;
    int Year;
}Goo;
Goo Date;

// example function prototype:
Goo AddToDate(Goo startDate, int secondsToAdd);

// whereas without the typedef you'd have to use
struct Goo AddToDate(struct Goo startDate, int secondsToAdd);