Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Basic Circuits Theory - Voltage, Short Circuits, Open Circuits

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkele

I am new to electronics but i love it, love the idea of building projects and doing cool little things, however that being said i need to get some concepts under my belt first.

Theory Questions

If i have a high voltage wire (say 20 000V) and another wire which is grounded hence is at 0V. If a human being (i am assuming that they are an ideal wire and hence does not induce a voltage drop) was to grab a 20 000V and a ground wire at the same time would they be connecting the 20 000V to a short circuit since ground is at 0V? I have attached an image as it is clearer.

Practical Questions

My biggest problem is looking at a circuit and having an almighty difficult time figuring out what the components are there for. Apart from practice and theoretical development how can i overcome this?

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• Q.png
    Q.png
    20.9 KB · Views: 328
I am new to electronics but i love it, love the idea of building projects and doing cool little things, however that being said i need to get some concepts under my belt first.

Theory Questions