Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Bad output wave-form from my filter??

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is my first project on my own and is really annoying me.

My main goal is to turn an LED on and off with low frequencies with 12V and 0V rails.

I send the amplified RCA signal to the filter. There is a sine-wave on the input of the op amp. However, the output does is at 12V DC with no signal. With a low frequency, the output dips below 12V to about 0V. However, this alternation is only about 1/4 the time that the output is at 12V (20% duty cycle?).

I can't understand why this is happening and am 1000% sure I have it hooked up correctly.

I am using an LM324 op amp, 20k resistors on the filter, .01uF on the filter, and 10k feedback resistors on the filter.

Please help as this is driving me insane.

**broken link removed**

How are you powering the 324: single supply? split supply? With a single supply, you'll need a voltage divider (1:1) to eliminate the DC offset to the op amp.

Your Sallen and Key lowpass filter must be fed from a very low impedance like the output of an opamp.
An opamp with a dual-polarity supply has its input biased at half the total supply voltage which is 0V. Then its output can swing equally up and down.

I added an opamp input buffer that has a very low output impedance and it is biased at half the supply voltage. It is DC-coupled to the input of the filter so the filter opamp is also biased at half the supply voltage.