Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

AVR Dragon vs Sparkfun Pocket AVR Programmer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jon Wilder

I've been working with AVR since 2016. To start off, I purchased the Pocket AVR Programmer from Sparkfun and have been using that up until very recently.

A project I've been working on for the last 2 years finally made it to the prototype PCB phase. I designed the circuit around the ATMEGA328PB, but instead the assemblers installed a MEGA328P. Since I used SPI module 1 on the 328PB to drive the LED display using 74HC595 serial latches and the pins used are analog only pins on the 328P, this rendered the display completely useless. However, I wanted to test what I could using the 328P to ensure the board design was solid.

In the process of setting the fuses, I accidentally programmed the debugWIRE fuse, which got the chip stuck in debug mode.

Unfortunately, since the Pocket AVR Programmer is just a programmer and not a debugger, there was no way I could use it to unprogram the debugWIRE fuse.

So I did some research and learned about the AVR Dragon, which is both a programmer and debugger. I learned that with the Dragon, I can start a debug session in Atmel Studio, then exit debug and unprogram the debugWIRE fuse.

I then ordered a Dragon, and wala! It worked without a hitch and recovered the processor to normal operation.