Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

automatic reversing motor

Status
Not open for further replies.

videogame

hello,

I am new to electronics and need a bit of assistance with designing a circuit for a robot I am making. I have very little experience in designing circuits and I am relying on your expertise to get me through it.

I need schematics for a circuit that will automatically make a motor go forwards and backwards. I guess you can use capacitors to make the motor reverse on a predictable cycle, right? I don't need anything fancy. I simply want a switch to turn the whole circuit on, and then the motor should automatically go forward for a second, and then go backwards for a second. (if possible, i would like to use one of those knobs that can allow me to change the delay before the motor changes directions).

thank you very much for your time.

videogame

I assume you have a simple DC motor.
A capacitor cannot change the direction of a motor. At best, it can filter brush noise.
To change motor direction, you must change the polarity of the DC voltage going to the motor. This is done by swapping the motor's terminals against the supply voltage. An H-bridge composed of 4 transistors, or a DPDT relay will do the job.

what I think he is talking abt is using a cap is say a 555 timer circuit such that after x seconds this chip changes its output from LO to HI,

This logic signal can then be passed to the H-Bridge power-circuit to change the motor's direction