Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Automatic PIC Switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andraho

Hello!

I've had some experience in PIC programming, but want to do more complex stuff (take over the world! :D). I took some classes in Boulder, CO with SparkFun's summer school but I wanted to get started in PICs now (they did arduino). It took me more than a couple years to understand everything, when I had time, but now I think things are starting to click. This is intense stuff, and very complex. I've been messing around with LEDs and stuff, which has been very fun, and now I'm working on an automatic PIC switch. I found this tutorial on Gooligum which worked for me!

https://www.electro-tech-online.com/custompdfs/2010/11/PIC_Mid_C_3.pdf

I'm doing a mobile project, which will basically turn on a device (turn on a relay to turn on device). Since I found that tutorial, I've bought the 12F629, because that's what they use. But I want to have the PIC sleeping while it's waiting for the pushbutton switch to be pressed. I'm using Hi Tech compiler:

Code:
#include <htc.h>
#define _XTAL_FREQ 4000000

/***** CONFIGURATION *****/
// ext reset, no code or data protect, no brownout detect,
// no watchdog, power-up timer enabled, 4MHz int clock
__CONFIG(MCLREN & UNPROTECT & BORDIS & WDTDIS & PWRTEN & INTIO);

#define nB_LED 1 		// indicator LED on GP1
#define nBUTTON 2		// switch on GP2

unsigned char sGPIO;	// shadow copy of GPIO

void main()
{