Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Advice for changing LED's

Status
Not open for further replies.

yidboy69

Hi,
I am a complete novice in terms of electronics so was hoping someone could give me some advice. I have a bite alarm that runs off a 9v square battery and has a 5mm red led that lights up on rotation of a magnetic contact. The led also stays on for around 10 seconds after the initial contact. I wanted to change the red led to blue, so bought some super bright 5mm blue led's from Maplins today and they look identical in every way, even the element inside. To test the new leds, which i saw working in the shop, i opened the alarm casing and put the legs of the new led onto the solder points of the old led but it will not light up, just the old red one. I even pulled back the sleeving to get a better contact, but still the same problem. My question is therefore: is it possible that the new led would run once it was changed to the only main contact, could the battery only be capable of powering one led at a time, and will the new led, if working, stay on for 10 seconds(is this contolled by the board or led)??? Could there be compatability problems with the new led?? If anyone could help, or suggest a place i could take the units to in the Benfleet, Essex area i would be eternally grateful.

Red LEDs need about 2.2 volts to illuminate them.
Blue LEDs require about 3.7 volts.