Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Changing battery type and solar charging?

GreginCO

I am a complete Newbie, so simplicity is appreciated.

I use battery powered irrigation valve timers. They come set up to use 2 x AAA standard alkaline batteries. For reasons too lengthy to explain here, I converted the internal 2 x AAA power to an external 2 x AA standard alkaline battery source. Alkaline batteries do not last the entire watering season so the batteries have to be changed. However, because the timers are not digital, changing the batteries then also requires resetting each timer - a physical process of turning two knobs at exactly the time you want the valve to open.

I'd like to convert the 2 x AA alkaline battery source to a 2 x AA rechargeable battery source with an attached solar panel charging system so the batteries stay charged all season. I have scoured the internet looking for a simple plan (or kit) for accomplishing this but I can't seem to find anything. Can anyone here point me in the right direction?

(For reference, other than keeping the timer electronics active, when the timer calls for the valve to open, a 3v (geared) motor rotates and closes a switch and rotates a small ball valve 1/4 turn and then opens the switch - about 5 to10 seconds. In my case, this may happen a total of two times a day. Yes, these are clumsy timers, but they are one of only two timers that I found that do not require back-pressure to operate.)

Thank you in advance.