Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

AC adapter - higher than expected output voltage

Status
Not open for further replies.

giftiger_wunsch

Hi,

I'm new to electronics, but I've converted a mains AC/DC adapter plug (230VAC input, 6VDC output) from an old set of speakers into a power supply for a microcontroller, but after checking the voltage when using it for another project recently, I noted that when it was plugged in and switched on, but the output circuit was not connected, my voltmeter read 25V and was slowly climbing.

Is it possible that the transformer is producing excess charge in the output circuit since it's not being discharged into a circuit, or should I buy a new voltmeter? :rolleyes:

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Put a small load on it and see what it says.

If it's a standard transformer type wall-wart, it will show the correct voltage when loaded at it's maximum load. When it is unloaded, or less than max load, it will show a higher voltage, although it shouldn't be 24V out of a 6V adapter. It's usually ~1.41x the rated voltage, unloaded.

If you're getting 25V out, either it's not a 6V adapter, it's not a transformer based wall-wart, or something is wrong.

Last edited: