Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

a question on norton method..

Status
Not open for further replies.
https://img391.imageshack.us/my.php?image=img8855ew6.jpg

why "I" is negative??
i know that KCL says that the sum of the currents that goes in
equals the sum of the currents that goes out

here i dont know what current goes into the node
and what current goes out??
i dont know how you decided the direction of each current

i am new to this stuff
and i think that the "I" current is pointed up
so it goes into the node
the second current the goes threw "R1" also come into the node
because the currect goes from the plus of the battery to minus of the battery

where did i go wrong??

i cant see the conventions here

i cant see how the currents flow using these conventions

in what case we have e-v and in what v-e
???

In this case, all the currents are taken as the currents leaving the node.

They all add up to zero. That means some will be negative.

The current leaving the node to the battery via R1 is (e-V)/R1
(this could be negative or positive, depending on lots of things)

The current leaving the node through R2 is e/R2
(This will be positive)

The current leaving the node through the current souce is -I
(This will be negative)

I hope this helps.

questions regarding this norton article..

in this article they present only one resistor between the lines
i can put many resistor between the lines
how do i recognize the load resistor??