Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

6V 3W bicycle hub alternator to Phone's 5V charging port

Project's purpose is for self learning and developing Commons licensed collaborative reiteration based knowledge base for developing steps to DIY self powered 5V charger for mobile phone GPS, cycle computer and the like powered, by it's 5V 0.5Ah output. A sort of online maker space, where space is members desktops without any postal address. Aim is the HOWTO.

I am not an electronics professional, but a cycle mechanic which has swallowed bike touring bug and wishes to design dependable bicycle cockpit charging using cyclist's power via 6V 3W standard hub alternator. Some such designs have hit the market. I am here after Open Hardware and already available buck circuitry course to accomplishing results vs 100s+ monetary exchange for what is already available on the market, because it is fun to make and understand.

First item to overcome:
1. dependable 5V output due to variable rotation speed of the hub alternator.
2. charging 3.7V li-ion batteries and reuse of stored energy in batteries to power lights 4 nite rides.

Any assistance welcome. Many Thanks in advance
--
Miroslav

It helps if you can provide links of specs. to your intended generator with expected drag vs efficiency tolerance for overcoming this generator's inefficiency. An MPPT circuit is essential which must match the performance of the generator and rider's preferences for low speed cut-out or manual over-ride.