Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

555 timer output help for a newbee...

Status
Not open for further replies.

WIZARDSV650S

I am VERY new to electronics so most of the things I find that may be able to help me are hard for me to understand (although I am learning quickly). I made an adjustable timer using this site: http://www.kpsec.freeuk.com/projects/timer.htm

It works and does what I need...sort of. The ouput I have is not going to a bleeper it is going to another electronic device that uses a 9V charge for about one second.
I used a 9V battery to set this up and during the "countdown" I have about half that; 4.58V at the output and then it jumps to the full 9+V at the end. There are two issues here that I need help with.
The less important is: Is there a way to eliminate the 4.58V from reaching my output before it becomes 9+V? (I would like this but it is okay if I cant because the device will not operate at less than 9V)
The more important question is with the output. Currently the output has a duration similar to the input duration which I understand has to do with the capacitor discharge. I want to maintain the 10 minutes it takes to "countdown" but is there a way on the output side to limit the duration of the high (9V) signal to only a second?
Thank you to anyone who can give me an answer to this that I may actually understand.