1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

2x LM3886 In Parallel - How To Add DC Offset Adjustment

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by ParkingLotLust, Sep 6, 2009.

  1. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,588
    Likes:
    950
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    The temperature of a loaded transformer indicates its max current.
     
  2. ParkingLotLust

    ParkingLotLust Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    549
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Niagara on the Lake, Ontario
    How many degrees above ambient? I cant think of any way to use lower and lower resistor values at wattages that high. I think Ill end up building it and monitoring the temperature, and if it gets too hot Ill pick up a bigger toroid.
     
  3. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,331
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    ONLINE
    Measure the physical size of the transformer, and compare that to manufacturers specifications, it's a good indication of the wattage.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. ParkingLotLust

    ParkingLotLust Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    549
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Niagara on the Lake, Ontario

    I emailed the company with the markings on the side, hopefully they get back to me. The problem I found with trying to compare with whats on the site is that they only list a few toroids per page, and there are ~28 pages that I would have to go through and click each one and check the dimensions. Also, the toroid I have has multiple (4, 2 of which are CT) secondaries and there isnt a single power toroid listed with more than one pair of secondaries.

    Worst case scenario, their head office is within bus distance of where I live so I can always head there aswell. I guess its time to play the waiting game.
     
  6. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,331
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    ONLINE
    Don't count windings - just measure the size of it - what diameter, and how thick.
     
  7. ParkingLotLust

    ParkingLotLust Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    549
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Niagara on the Lake, Ontario
    3.5" in diameter by 1.25" thick
    so
    890mm in diameter by 320mm thick

    EDIT yeah their site is pretty useless; the dimensions are the same for every transformer. For example:
    Height: 117.5 mm
    Width: 250.8 mm
    Length: 250.8 mm

    for an 80VA and a 1000VA transformer. The only thing different is the weight, and I dont have a scale handy to measure the transformer.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2009
  8. mneary

    mneary New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4,502
    Likes:
    67
    Location:
    California USA
    [edit] The dimensions and weight on the web page are probably for the shipping container. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: The weight is 0.50 kg more than the pdf. [/edit]

    "Show Product Specifications" and get the manufacturer's pdfs for 80VA and 1000VA and you get very different numbers. :eek:

    [edit again] You appear to have a huge transformer. It might weigh 5-10 kg which you can estimate on a bathroom scale. [/again]
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2009
  9. Mr RB

    Mr RB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,716
    Likes:
    194
    Location:
    Out there
    That's an 80 watt one. They are 90mm dia x 37mm thick. Almost exactly matches your size.
     
  10. Speakerguy

    Speakerguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes:
    15
    Location:
    USA
    It has multiple secondaries though. So hard to tell the VA of the windings he is using?

    Don't worry, if it's not enough the amp will just clip. You'll hear it, it sounds terrible. For 7.50 it is worth a shot. These LM3886 chips have all sorts of protection built in, so you are very very unlikely to damage it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2009
  11. ParkingLotLust

    ParkingLotLust Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    549
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Niagara on the Lake, Ontario
    Thats what I figured, speakerguy. I also found another local store that seems to sell a lot more powerful toroids, including some with dual secondaries, and higher amperage ratings.
     
  12. ParkingLotLust

    ParkingLotLust Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    549
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Niagara on the Lake, Ontario
    Got a reply back from the manufacturer. Here are the specs:

    Primary: 117VAC (BLK/BLK)
    Secondary 1: 7.8VAC @ 0.83A (RED/RED)
    Secondary 2: 9.2VAC @ 2.48A (ORN/ORN)
    Secondary 3: 8.3VAC-0-8.3VAC @ 1.2A (VIO/GRY/VIO)
    Secondary 4: 18.5VAC-0-18.5VAC @ 1.18A (BRN/WHT/BRN)

    I think the secondary I was after has too low of an amperage rating :(
     
  13. mneary

    mneary New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4,502
    Likes:
    67
    Location:
    California USA
    You can probably draw 1.4 times the rating (60VA vs. rated 43VA) from Secondary 4 if you draw nothing from the others. And, if you find another identical transformer to put in parallel, you could end up with about 120VA total.

    Rationale: The total rating of the transformer is based on its core and the total I^2*R heating of each winding. I'm suggesting that 1.4 times the current will produce double the heating, hence my suggestion that you can get 60VA from one winding of the 80VA transformer. (I'm ignoring the primary heating.)

    If you're hooking two transformers together that you aren't totally certain are identical, use separate rectifiers and join them at the DC connection.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2009
  14. ParkingLotLust

    ParkingLotLust Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    549
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Niagara on the Lake, Ontario
    I can get another one of these transformers no problem, they had a bunch when I was looking. So I can just parallel the two primaries and the secondary that I need? How do I tell if theyre in phase? The primary has two black leads (no separate marks, but there is a keyed connector), and the secondary has 2 browns and a white.
     
  15. mneary

    mneary New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4,502
    Likes:
    67
    Location:
    California USA
    If it's not inconvenient I would use two diode bridges.

    Otherwise, hook the black wires in parallel, then hook the white center taps together. Each pair of brown wires that read zero volts between them are in phase.
     
  16. ParkingLotLust

    ParkingLotLust Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    549
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Niagara on the Lake, Ontario
    What if I wired the primaries in parallel, and used one transformer for the +ve rail and one for the -ve rail? The original configuration uses a bridge rectifier for each rail - Id assume that since theyre identical transformers using one for each rail will provide double the current?
     
  17. mneary

    mneary New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4,502
    Likes:
    67
    Location:
    California USA
    One transformer for each rail isn't bad in principle, but in your case it isn't practical.

    You cannot draw all of the current for each rail from half of each Secondary 4. The I^2*R loss would be too high.

    The full Secondary 3 is only 16.6V, giving you enough current, but only ((16.6*1.4)-2)=21.5V rails.

    If it were my amplifier, I would hook the center taps together for 0V and use two bridge rectifiers, connecting + to + and - to - for the rails. The rails would be ((18.5*1.4)-1)=24.9. Note there's only one diode this way.
     
  18. ParkingLotLust

    ParkingLotLust Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    549
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Niagara on the Lake, Ontario
    Im not 100% sure I follow you so I whipped up this schem. Is this what you meant?

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Mr RB

    Mr RB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,716
    Likes:
    194
    Location:
    Out there
    Will you get full power with that transformer??

    (from LM3886 page)-
    • 68W cont. avg. output power into 4 at VCC = ±28V
    • 38W cont. avg. output power into 8 at VCC = ±28V
    • 50W cont. avg. output power into 8 at VCC = ±35V
    • 135W instantaneous peak output power capability
    • Signal-to-Noise Ratio >= 92dB
    • An input mute function
    • Output protection from a short to ground or to the supplies via internal current limiting circuitry
    • Output over-voltage protection against transients from inductive loads
    • Supply under-voltage protection, not allowing internal biasing to occur when |VEE| + |VCC| <= 12V, thus eliminating turn-on and turn-off transients
    • 11-lead TO-220 package
    • Wide supply range 20V - 94V
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2009
  20. mneary

    mneary New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4,502
    Likes:
    67
    Location:
    California USA
    Short answer: No.

    He'll get maybe 55W (page 9 on data sheet TL/H/11833-10) instead of 68W.

    He can get more power with the 18M22 or 18N22 transformer from the other local shop. Price listed is $50 or $56 instead of $15.
     
  21. mneary

    mneary New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4,502
    Likes:
    67
    Location:
    California USA
    Yes, exactly.
     

Share This Page