Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

2 simple motor control questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

oem_odm

Hello everyone: I'm not an electronic engineer, I wonder if someone can answer these 2 questions:

1. How can a DC motor (3.5 volt) be turned off when its turning is resisted. For example. Motor turns a cam, cam is blocked by an object, the motor can't turn. Is there a very simple way to detect the resistance and cut the power to the motor?

2. Motors often have very high RPM's. 9000.... 13000 - I want to use a cheap motor for a project, but, I would like to cut the RPM without gears. Can this be done by restricting the voltage? or, PWM? If PWM, whats the cheapest chips to use for PWM....

thanks / simon

1. The H-Bridge connfiguration can give you 4 modes of operation. CW,CCW,coast and BRAKE. Usually you get 2; Direction and NOT ENABLE. The NOT ENABLE signal is the PWM signal.

In the H bridge, there are 2 low value resistors. These can be monitored for the CW and CCW current. With some filtering and knowing if the motor is fully stopped, you can determine how to react. Example. Ignore first 100 ms at start. Overcurrent must last x time before not allowing the motor to run in that direction. Long ago I just put an LM317 in shutdown if an overcurrent condition lasted for x time. Power recycling was necesssary to clear the fault.

2. PWM is usually done in software. Veleman, avalable at Jameco, sells a PWM kit good for 10 A and 24 V. I've used the kit.