Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

16f628 and mplab

Status
Not open for further replies.

zaro

Hi
I am new in pics and MCs, with poor electronics knowledge.
I run my 1st program and...
1) receive the message:
"Register in operand not in bank 0. Ensure that bank bits are correct" at lines: "movwf TRISB, movwf TRISA".what does it mean? something wrong?
2) I used the options: "MPLAB SIM, PICSTART Plus". is it ok?
3) while runing the debuger i notice that the registers change into the expected values, but there is no effect at the output pins. They show steady 5+ volt (of coarse i am runing a blinking led program). Why? Whats wrong?
4) Despite this voltage, there is no current at all. How can?

) receive the message:
"Register in operand not in bank 0. Ensure that bank bits are correct" at lines: "movwf TRISB, movwf TRISA".what does it mean? something wrong?

TRISA and TRISB stays in bank1, therefore, to write to TRISA or TRISB, you must access to bank1.

BSF status, rp0 ; bank1
; write to TRISA and TRISB here
;then
BCF status, rp0 ; return to bank0

It's oki.

3) while runing the debuger i notice that the registers change into the expected values, but there is no effect at the output pins. They show steady 5+ volt (of coarse i am runing a blinking led program). Why? Whats wrong?

Because you didn't configure the outputs for the pins of ports.

If you only write

MOVLW b'00000000'
MOVWF TRISB ; all portB are outputs

it's not effected.

You have to write

BSF status, rp0