Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

120v AC Powered Daylight sensor

Status
Not open for further replies.

lexxtank

I am trying to make a circuit to control the Christmas lights on the house based on the amount of daylight. Obviously as it gets darker, the lights turn on, and when it gets brighter they turn off. I am very new to electronics, and I can't read circuit diagrams yet. How can I go about doing this? (It needs to accept 120v AC in, and put out 120v AC so I can plug the lights into it directly) Thanks.

Don't they make ready made controllers like this?

You won't be able to run the control off 120vac. You will need a source of low voltage DC that controls a relay or triac to switch the 120V lights.

Google "dark detecting circuit" and you will get an idea of the basics of how this is done.

Evil Mad Scientist Laboratories - A dark detecting circuit for your jack-o'-lantern

This one turns on 2 yellow LEDS, but an Opto-isolator could go in there place. The Low voltage circuit should be isolated for safty.

A simple circuit like this will "chatter" on and off when the light level is around the threshold of on/off.

Since you admit you have no experiance, I would work with some low voltage projects and increase your knowledge before you work with AC mains.

A simple circuit like this will "chatter" on and off when the light level is around the threshold of on/off.
Some have a second photocell that uses the light that has just turned on to give the thing some hysteresis.