Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What multimeter do you use?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mikebtb

I am just starting out toying with analogue audio and I just wondered if someone could reccomend a multimeter, maybe one you use and are happy with. Since I'm just starting out and it's a hobby I don't want to pay to much.

Thanks in advance

I am using a Chinese pretty cheap DMM rated just $5 (Aaron DT9205A). It's not accurate and stable like world's most advanced and expensive 'Fluke' though. My has:

-Resistance: 200Meg max
-Current AC and DC: 2mA to 20A max
-DC voltage: 200mV to 1000V max
-AC voltage: 200mV to 750V max
-Capacitance: 2nF to 200uF max
-Transistor's hFE test
-Continuity test
-Dial hold (DH) and auto sleep with 9V battery.

I bought a $25 Craftsman from Kmart almost 9 years ago and it's still going strong. I was surprised it worked so well.

2284870614_63ec623366_b.jpg

I have an HP 971A meter, had it for a very long time and it is best meter I ever owned. This is the most common tool I use for electronics work and other jobs such as, automotive, house electrical, and appliances. This is such an important asset in many ways, I would say, spend more if you can, as this instrument will be useful for years and years.
**broken link removed**

hi,
I use this model.
Useful for automotive, household wiring etc, as well as electronics.
The Duty cycle/Freq are handy for PWM testing.

**broken link removed**

61KZvNVsr8L._SL1000_.jpg