Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What are the advantages and practical differences between these two speed controllers of DC motor?

Hello I am new to electronics. This is the circuit. https://www.engineersgarage.com/tutorial-7-dc-motor-speed-control-using-attiny85/
1687356514369.png

And this is the second one:
1687418047346.png

In my opinion the second image is way more simpler, and doesn't require programming the microcontroller, also so less compontents, but is there any disadvanges in the second configuration?

Hello I am new to electronics. This is the circuit. https://www.engineersgarage.com/tutorial-7-dc-motor-speed-control-using-attiny85/ View attachment 141857
And this is the second one:
View attachment 141863
In my opinion the second image is way more simpler, and doesn't require programming the microcontroller, also so less compontents, but is there any disadvanges in the second configuration?
Yes, it's linear - so will get VERY hot, and will most likely require heat sinking on the FET.

The first circuit is 'digital', so switches the transistor ON and OFF very fast, producing little heat in the transistor.

However, both circuits are from one of the really poor sites on the Internet, and are very badly 'designed' by someone with little knowledge of electronics.