Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using a dynamo to charge batteries

Status
Not open for further replies.

narrcissuss

Hi guys,

I’m a sophomore physics student trying to design a mechanically driven EAP actuator propulsion system and I’m stuck. First off my understand of electrical circuits is rather limited at this point but the design is relatively simply, here’s gist of it. The system is driven by the same means as a bicycle (pedals and crank) that attach to a dynamo generator to charge an array of batteries to power a circuit board causing the EAP to actuate. The portion of this I’m stuck on is the charging and discharging of the batteries. I’ve read some posts here and there and there seems to be a pretty strong argument for using a capacitor in place of a battery array but all the same I’d like to get some opinion on how to set up the battery array. The charging of the array seems rather simple setting up the charger to run off the dynamo but the process of discharging the batteries while they remain on the charger escapes me. Any info that would clear this up would be great.

How much power do the EAP's require? - it really depends entirely on that.

For any amount of power worth pedalling for, I would suggest batteries are the way to go - capacitors are really only suitable for very low powered tasks.