1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Time delay for 12V motor using 555 IC

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by edmondcjj, Jul 17, 2017.

  1. edmondcjj

    edmondcjj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes:
    0

    Thanks alot!! But currently i have a 2N3904 transistor will it still work?
    Also, can i use a 1N4148 diode?
     
  2. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,291
    Likes:
    1,223
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Neither of those has a current rating as high as your motor current, so they would get hot and fry.
    Get into the habit of reading the datasheets for components you want to use in a circuit, to make sure they can handle the expected voltages and currents.
     
  3. edmondcjj

    edmondcjj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes:
    0
    Does TIP122 work the same as TIP120/121? Cos my local electronic store doesnt have those 2 in stocks so i bought TIP122 instead. will it work still?
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,291
    Likes:
    1,223
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales

    Yes, the TIP122 is fine.
     
  6. edmondcjj

    edmondcjj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes:
    0

    Hey thank you so much! Its works now without getting hot!

    As for accuracy what can i do to allow it to get consistent timings, even if i Off my motor before the timing ended on the previous run?
     
  7. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,291
    Likes:
    1,223
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    How consistent should the timings be?
     
  8. edmondcjj

    edmondcjj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes:
    0
    Like if i stopped my motor during the duration of the time delay, then if i start my next run immediately after the timing is not around the same.
    So it would be best if it could get back around the same duration even after restarting the motor immediately.
     
  9. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,291
    Likes:
    1,223
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Ok. Let's talk numbers. If your target time is 26S, how many seconds either side of that would be 'near enough'?
     
  10. edmondcjj

    edmondcjj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes:
    0
    Its weird tho i know that the values of my caps and resistors should get me around 26secs for the time delay. However, im getting a timedelay of about 20secs. But thats ok tho.
    Near i would say about 1-2 secs ?
     
  11. edmondcjj

    edmondcjj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes:
    0
    Also, my next step of my project is to convert the breadboard circuit and use it on a PCB. How do i do it on a PCB board now, i heard i cannot just copy and arrange the circuit exactly like how i see on the Breadboard, since theres no negative or positive rails.
    I currently have 3 types of pcb . One has non plated holes, one has holes that are individually plated and the other pcb has holes plated row by row.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. edmondcjj

    edmondcjj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes:
    0
    I tried connecting my circuit using the PCB that is plated row by row. and this is how my connections looks like im not sure if this is how we are supposed to connect .
    The 2 wires on both sides act as the + and - rails like a breadboard. im not sure if this is how it is supposed to work like . Thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,291
    Likes:
    1,223
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    The 'row-by-row' board (aka stripboard or Veroboard) is what I would have used.
    Do the copper strips of the board in your pic go from top to bottom or from left to right? Whatever, did you remove copper from between the pins of the 555, and elsewhere where needed, to prevent shorting the wrong bits?
     
  14. edmondcjj

    edmondcjj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes:
    0
    Its going from left to right. I do know that i have to "cut" the copper between the 555. however i dont know where else to remove. but based on the pic i sent and to my breadboard is this how the connection should be like?
     
  15. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,291
    Likes:
    1,223
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    From the pic it seems you haven't done the soldering yet? I haven't spotted any obvious mis-wiring.
     
  16. edmondcjj

    edmondcjj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes:
    0
    Yup i havent solder it yet. I wanna make sure i have arranged it properly before soldering. Is my arrangement that i had done the same as my breadboard?
    So does this means i can proceed on with the soldering?
    Also, if i wanna increase the timing of the time delay in the future , i can just increase the value of the capacitors right??
     
  17. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,291
    Likes:
    1,223
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Get soldering :)
    Right. Or increase the value of the timing resistor through which the cap charges.
     
  18. edmondcjj

    edmondcjj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes:
    0
    Oh no it didnt work on the PCB board, thus i put back the components that i took from the breadboard and placed it back on the breadboard. and now my circuit isnt working again.... it just runs non-stop
     
  19. edmondcjj

    edmondcjj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes:
    0
    It worked once on the PCB board with properly time delay and all, but thn it suddenly didnt work again. why is this happening
     
  20. edmondcjj

    edmondcjj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes:
    0
    i solved the breadboard issue, however my pcb does not work, it runs non stop im not sure whats wrong.
    idk whether is wrong wiring or loose connection
     
  21. JoeJester

    JoeJester Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Likes:
    105
    Location:
    Grand Prairie, TX
    Show the picture of the component side and the other side of the PCB. Show the picture of the schematic you are currently using.

    Make a list of every point you tested and write what you measured.

    Do NOT disassemble it. If you do the pictures become worthless.
     

Share This Page