1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

So How Fast is Your Internet Speed? Test here & Post!

Discussion in 'Computers and Networks' started by Analog, Aug 20, 2008.

  1. mvs sarma

    mvs sarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes:
    76
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India.
    hi,
    as ADSL, when I used BSNL at Hyderabad an year ago, i used to get 1.86Mbps download and 485kbps upload. Presently i use BEAM teleat 4+4mbps and annual payment of below 7000 bucks (in Indian Rs)

    but your present download speed is discouraging, that too from Indian capital. perhaps the speed could be faster, atleast for download. btw, what is the plan you had taken?

    Perhaps you can make a case with MTNL,
     
  2. neptune

    neptune Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes:
    5
    Location:
    New delhi, India
    Hello Mr. sarma
    My speed fluctuates wildly from 1.7Mbps to 0.2 Mbps :), we get better speed in night after 12 or in day time(2-4), I pay Rs900 monthly. my plan is 2 Mbps unlimited data.
    I see you live in Hyderabad that is an IT city, High speed is must there. but here only in country side (small towns) we het such speed because there are no users
     
  3. nsaspook

    nsaspook Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes:
    219
    Location:
    Fairview, Or
    Speed upgrade:
    [​IMG]
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.

    [​IMG]

    Year before that before and upgrade.

    [​IMG]

    This is better compared to last year. I'm going to have to check into other providers. I currently have DSL and could get a better deal with Comcast, I just don't trust them they don't have many competitors where I'm at.

    Google is going to trying and tap into some fiber locally installed in my town. The previous fiber company went bankrupt and we are next to the first test town Google fiber did in a Town called Provo. Hopefully they can make it work.

    Edit: Bad time to be testing while everyone is home on New Years Day lol. I'll do another tomorrow.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2015
  6. JoeJester

    JoeJester Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Likes:
    105
    Location:
    Grand Prairie, TX
    ONLINE
    I worked with 45 baudot thru the days of computer modems being 300 and 1200 baud. From there it was 14.4 kb, 28.8 kb, and 33.6 kb. Then onward to DSL and cable. Currently on a 20 Mbps download 1.5 Mbps upload connection. So I guess I went from snail's pace where typing can outrun the connect, to a jack rabbit over the last 40 years. Still waiting for fiber to be available ... .


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  7. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.
    Ok, just got installed with cable and don't know what the best or worst in my area.

    New test....

    [​IMG]
     
  8. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.
    Decided to do another test today and see what I had.

    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,437
    Likes:
    933
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    ONLINE
    Your internet speed is very very fast.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.
    Long time; guru:)

    Yes, I took a chance and doubled and tripled the speed.

    If you look at my history it will be broken in the next three or six months. I'm hoping we will get fiber since google is in the next town. They're looking at our city and might be changing things.

    I can only hope:)

    kv
     
  11. Tony Stewart

    Tony Stewart Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,151
    Likes:
    281
    Location:
    Richmond Hill , ON Canada near Toronto
    I can't complain. Using iPad with a low cost Cloud browser is pretty good and supports Java for iOS
    iPad(only)

    [​IMG]
    But my bottleneck is cloud to me at 38Mbps Down / 3Mbps up unlimited downloads (ACANAC ISP)
     
  12. Tony Stewart

    Tony Stewart Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,151
    Likes:
    281
    Location:
    Richmond Hill , ON Canada near Toronto
    I recall it was 55 Baud, but I started at 110 Baud with Lunar Lander games on IBM360 and teletype in the hallway of classes.

    Then in early 80's we designed a network with T1 to the home for a phone company in MB . It was called Project IDA. (ISDN Broadband WAN)

    My standard test for Net Speed isn't Speedtest but rather a Randomwebsite in a browser favorite bar. If I can fetch 25 random webpages per minute averaged. This combines latency DNS search and download speed as well as OS response with any background crap, which is most people's bottleneck.
     
  13. JoeJester

    JoeJester Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Likes:
    105
    Location:
    Grand Prairie, TX
    ONLINE
    45 baud was the RATT speed...so that dictated the speed on our 60 mA networks.
     
  14. Tony Stewart

    Tony Stewart Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,151
    Likes:
    281
    Location:
    Richmond Hill , ON Canada near Toronto
    I think some banks still use 45 baud when they say they do a TT ;) and can be very slow.
     
  15. JoeJester

    JoeJester Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Likes:
    105
    Location:
    Grand Prairie, TX
    ONLINE
    ARE ....not can be. Lol
     
  16. Tony Stewart

    Tony Stewart Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,151
    Likes:
    281
    Location:
    Richmond Hill , ON Canada near Toronto
    Although I must say genisys credit union does put their customers first and recurring WT's with a Pin # per recipient are very fast and painless online for international transfers.
     
  17. Cicero

    Cicero Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    335
    Likes:
    36
    Location:
    UK
    Jeepers Tony, that is one hell of a connection!

    This is me:
    [​IMG]
     
  18. Tony Stewart

    Tony Stewart Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,151
    Likes:
    281
    Location:
    Richmond Hill , ON Canada near Toronto
    Yes it is. Its called the Puffin Browser at the Apple Store ( free and pay versions differ with Java support I think )
     
  19. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,008
    Likes:
    316
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Just upgraded mine. This is pretty fast for Australia.
    [​IMG]

    Mike.
     
  20. tunedwolf

    tunedwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes:
    62
    Location:
    UK
    Holy sh1t Mike, I'm lucky if I break 1/4 of that :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2015
  21. mvs sarma

    mvs sarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes:
    76
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India.
    45Mbps is quite a good speed.
    How are you now a days !!

    At Hyderabad, India, M/s Hathway isp promises 50Mbps at 12$ a month, but i suspect their claim

    presently i use beam (now called acttv) and here are my results
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2015

Share This Page