Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Selectronic Inverter

Status
Not open for further replies.

robin.sally

Greetings
Please bear with me as this is my first post and I am no expert!

I have a Selectronic SA31 Sine Wave inverter sitting here on the table beside me in about 30 bits and it smells rather nasty! It has had a DC voltage spike. I’m not to curtain how high the voltage went, but it blew 35V 4700uf caps. I have found 7 or 8 MTP75N05HD's (75A, 50V MOSFET's) that have burns on them, but suspect the rest need replaced too. (Total of 36)
I am located in New Zealand and I am having some trouble locating these.
Does any one know the best place to source some?

Also, I have found two equivalents;
STP80N05-09 (80A / 50V)
HUF75343P3 (75A / 55V)

Any help would be much appreciated. I also apologise in advance for my sloppy terminology.
Regards
Robin Baird

Hi Robin,
It sounds like your inverter might be best suited to a boat anchor, I have a 1700 watt modiefied sine wave inverter that got a spike and blew all the mosfets and after talking with the bloke that makes them
he said to was nearly the same cost to repair it as the price of a new one and even if he replaced the blown parts he couldn't give any warranty as once a spike has blown away the fets the inverter is best suited to the scrap heap.