Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Robotic arm final year project

Status
Not open for further replies.

vnee

I am doing robotic arm for my final year project...
The shoulder must be able to move forward/backward and sideways...
The elbow must be able to bend and the wrist must be able to turn.. and finally this arm must have clapping motion that resembles human motion..
I am an electrical engineering student, so I don't really know about the mechanics part..
Which actuator is better?? Servo motor or pneumatic actuator??
I just found out about the spherical motor? How do you control it?
And how about ball joints??

Please help me and give some idea.. Thank you...

same title as mine

:) i have almost same title as urs,
mine is to design a controller to control robotic arm, but the arm need to be acts more smooth, more like human motion.
i using servo motor now cause it use pulse width to control position,
btw, i also on the way to do it, perharps we can exchange idea in future.
btw, i am a manufacturing and designing student, is a sub from mechanical.
i need fast speed servo motor, torque is not important for me. if u got any info about that, do let me know.

Pneumatics are more complicated, but if it's stationary (and you have some budget) and want power and smoothness and decide to go with pnemuatics, look at these Air Muscles. They are like flexible, muscle-like pnemuatic actuators and the price is quite reasonable (not including support equipment like a compressor).