1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Robot Efficiency & other Robot stuff

Discussion in 'Robotics & Mechatronics' started by williB, Oct 6, 2004.

  1. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    they are unipolar.. six wire steppers with 2.3 ohms resistance..and i am using 5V to drive them.. the measured current is 1.4A... dosent add up..does it..hmm
     
  2. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,324
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    That's because it's not a resistor :lol:
     
  3. bloody-orc

    bloody-orc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    hey again!
    but wenn you take off the wheel and then drive it and hold it with fingers will youre stepper stopp? well i mean of course that you dont grab it wery strongly but enaugh hard(cant say the exact amount of force :wink:
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey

    mine have a fair amount of torque.. when i run them if i grab the wheel tightly.. the rim will keep spining..
    you have no torque on your steppers ?
     
  6. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i am driving them with the exact configuration as Nigel has on his site except i am using IRF 510's instead of the ones he is using..
     

    Attached Files:

  7. bloody-orc

    bloody-orc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    hey again!
    ok mine are to weak. where did you get those? Did you bought them? All i have tried are all from copymashines\printers\etc. and it seems they are all toooo weak. :( :cry:
     
  8. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    yes they are from a copier/printer also
     
  9. bloody-orc

    bloody-orc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    723
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    could you say all the information about them? all what is written on them...(if this is not mutch trouble)
     
  10. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    well i've had a pretty good morning..
    I found not one , but two 12V 2.3Ah batteries at a garage sale, they came with a Bell Atlantic Special Edition Cell Phone..Very early model..
    $3.00!!!
    Can U say Robot Power...lol
     

    Attached Files:

  11. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    these are Minebea
    type 23KM-K379-G1
    at the bottom it says
    NO T8Y03
     
  12. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    :cry: Bad news..
    i was programming and debugging my only 16F84A and something happened ..
    it stopped running.. i was blinking LED's and trying to get the steppers to run on the pic.. the steppers didn't seem to have the power that they had when i was using the PC to drive them..
    all of a sudden it just stopped blinking the LED's...tried to reprogram it but all it reads is ones...*sigh*
    I did get two other pics when i ordered the 16F84A, but one is the 18F2220 a compleatly different animal , and a 16F874 .
    But i am a little hesitant to use the new 40 pin 874 for fear that whatever happened to his little brother would befall him..lol
    *sigh*
     
  13. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,324
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    PIC's really take some killing, so you must have done something rather drastic to it! - I presume you were feeding it from 5V?, and have the required capacitors on the regulator IC?.

    Ordering the obselete 16F84 seems a really strange thing to do?, why didn't you order it's modern replacement the 16F628, cheaper chip and a higher spec as well.
     
  14. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i did'nt know about it..
     
  15. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    yes.. well they were on the other side of this cable..
    ya see , i was using the 5v supply from the pc.. and the pc was fine,..it was still running..so .. i just dont know..
     

    Attached Files:

  16. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
  17. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ok i am back in business..Got my new 628's from microchip yesterday ( in less than a week)..!!
    tried programming one .. worked like a charm..so now i have to figure out what happened to the F84A.
    Nigel recommended caps close to Vdd & Vss any recomendations on what values.?
    I am thinking of supplying the 628 with its own 5v regulator .
     
  18. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,324
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    I would suggesting looking at my tutorial boards, they work very reliably, and I would certainly suggest you have a 5V regulator on the board!.
     
  19. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    this is my current diagram.
    the Eagle software didnt have a 16F628 but did have a 16F84A ..
    I think that i turned the wheel by hand causing an induced voltage to ruin the last PIC.. hopefully it wont happen again..
    Battery 2 is going to be NiMH 1.2 V batteries giving 4.8 Volts hope this is enough to turn the gates on..if not maybe a combination of batteries of different types will work..
     

    Attached Files:

  20. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    so what does anyone think ??
    will this prevent the motors from frying the new chip.??
     
  21. williB

    williB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    New Jersey
    this design is much better..
    i scoped the LM317 output , not a blip to be found..
    i think this one is a LOT safer for the PIC..
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page