Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

producing heat (i.e. car cigarette lighter)

Status
Not open for further replies.

tmp0

Hello all,
This is my first post. I’m very new to electronics so bear with me, I’m doing my best.

I have a very small (10x10cm) metal plate, with so many little holes in it. I want this plate to heat up to a degree close to the cigarette lighter in a car. The metal plate is extremely thin.

I know that connecting a wire directly to a power supply (one end to positive and other to negative) produces heat. Should I try this with the metal plate or is that just crazy and dangerous?! :p

Any hints are highly appreciated.

Naimi

i wouldn't put it on anything wooden! and i wouldn't advise holding it. how much power you putting to it? how much resistance does the plate have?

you need to consider ohms law e=i*r. although a cigarette lighter has low resistance it still has more than a plate with holes in it. this is because the element is in a coil and that lengthens the path that the current has to flow. that combined with the material that it is made out of gives it some resistance to limmit the amount of current.puy your meter on the plate you have then plug the resistance into the equation with the voltage you plan to use and see what you come up with for current.

You might end up creating more heat in the power supply than at the target.

mybuickskill6979 & Gaston:
I currently have an adapter that outputs 12v DC and 2A.