Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC24FJ family and Development Stuff

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mikebits

Back when I worked in the electronics industry (15 years now), when I did a hardware design using a processor, I would just plop a uP on a schematic, ensure all the hardware design was correct, and then just hand-off the completed design to a software person.

Well, now I find myself in the position where I am working on a board design, but this time I have to worry about the code myself, and I am getting that thousand yard stair one gets after sifting through the multitudes of information concerning the software aspect of a microcontroller design. Now I have the basic idea of what I need to do, but then again I am getting overwhelmed by some of what I need to do, or will need to do.

So, my first step was to decide on a device, I decided on Microchip as they seem popular. Then I thought about what I want my design to do.
Graphics display with touch switch, some analog sensor inputs, USB interface, flash, and a few other features. Well, since I am developing a prototype and will want all the Up power I would need (keep in mind I was not sure what I would need at this time), I thought I would start with a big device and could scale down after I had the prototype worked out. So the 64 pin PIC24FJ256GB110 had everything I needed.