1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

LTspice XVII

Discussion in 'Circuit Simulation & PCB Design' started by Mikebits, Sep 2, 2016.

  1. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,213
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    Looks like LT has released a new version of the venerable LTSpice IV, (or is this old news?) The thumbnail preview alone is worth a download:)

    LTspice XVII

    LTspice XVII is partial rewrite of LTspice IV with a modern graphics library for native multi-monitor support. XVII also includes:

    • 64-bit support
    • UNICODE (use any character of any living language)
    • New device equations (IGBT, soft recovery, and an arbitrary state machine)
    • Improved GUI: Editors for most SPICE syntax commands
    • Extensions to Microsoft Windows for schematic thumbnail previews
    LTspice XVII runs on 32- or 64-bit editions of Windows 7, 8 or 10. Windows XP is not supported. Windows XP users can run LTspice IV, which will still be available in observance of Linear Technology Corporation's zero obsolescence tradition.
    http://ltspice.linear-tech.com/software/LTspiceXVII.exe

    Has anyone tried this yet? What did ya think? I'm gonna give it a try and will post my thoughts on it.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,213
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    So far, it looks pretty much the same as LTSpice IV, but it does show a screen preview when opening a file which is handy when you have lots a files and don't remember the name.
    See screenshot below:

    ltspicethumbnail.PNG
     
  3. crutschow

    crutschow Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,563
    Likes:
    471
    Location:
    L.A., USA Zulu -8
    How did you handle your added model files with the new version?
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,213
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca

    It looks like the same directory structure as LTIV, so I imagine you can just copy your files over to the new directory. One other thing you will have to do is be sure to change the new version to be the default application for opening .asc files, or when you click to open from say the ETO page, the older version will be invoked. For example, I been wanting to learn how to use the thermal models in LTspice, so yesterday I started going through the LTspice tutorial page for the SOAtherm, when I clicked on the example file SOAtherm-NMOS Example suggested in the tutorial, and ran the simulation, my LTSpice Crashes. I noticed that file version IV was opened when I clicked on the filename. Have not figured out why the sim crashes as I have not had time to look into it yet.
    I am heading up to Santa Barbara for the night, so I will work on sorting things out upon my return.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2016
  6. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,404
    Likes:
    927
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    I have been using LTspiceIV for years. IV is "4" isn't it? Now they have XVII which is 17. Where were all the version numbers from 5 to 16?
    The old "asc" images in my files look different and when I open them then the LTspiceXVII opens them.
     
  7. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,213
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    Maybe they are using it by definition of Cardinal Number. Here is definition from a Free Dictionary:
    Just a guess.:confused:
     
  8. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,214
    Likes:
    1,210
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Perhaps LT are being forward-looking and it's next year's version...2017. :D. (Haven't checked if the IV version dates back to 2004!).
     
  9. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,213
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    Well, I thought I would report back on the issue mentioned above. After setting LT17 as the default program for .asc files, running the simulation for the SOAtherm example no longer crashes, so that is cool, and now I can go through the tutorial. See screen shot below:

    SOAthermload.PNG
     
  10. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,213
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    One other new feature (at least as far as I know) I just stumble across is that you can now set you Y-axis to nyquist, sort like the smith chart but I have not quite figured out how it correlates yet. If anyone care to explain it, that would be great :)

    smithchart.PNG
     
  11. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,213
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    Just in case there are those who do not know how to change their default program for .asc (LTspice files), I am providing a little mini tutorial here.
    Note: This write-up was done using Win 7, but I am hoping it is similar for other windows versions. Refer to image below (Fig 1)


    1. Right click .ASC file
    2. Click properties tab
    3. In the Opens with option, click the change option (see fig 1)
    4. Click Browse
    5. Navigate to the directory where you installed LTspice17 ie. C:\LTC\LTspiceXVII
    6. Left click XVIIx64.exe to highlight the file, then click the open tab, click okay.
    defaulttut1.PNG

    You should be all set.
     
  12. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,214
    Likes:
    1,210
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Does the XVII version have any known drawbacks over the old version (e.g. restrictions, smaller libraries)?
     
  13. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    9,995
    Likes:
    316
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Looks like LT had counting lessons of Microsoft.
    Gates.jpg
    Mike.
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
  14. Daniel Wood

    Daniel Wood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes:
    8
    Location:
    Wakefield
    Finally, left click panning!
    Praise the LTords!
     
  15. eTech

    eTech Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    561
    Likes:
    43
    Hi

    There were numerous issues with LTspiceXVII. Many have been fixed or are queued to be fixed. Check with the LTspice yahoo group.
     
  16. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,213
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    I am not a member of Yahoo group, can you give an example issue?
     
  17. m12lrpv

    m12lrpv New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes:
    0
    17 is for the 17 year aniversary of LTspice.

    There are some variations in the models. last night I spent a few hours merging my model customisations into the new models. It will be interesting to see if there is any impact.

    The main variation observed so far in the standard components is the prolific presence of "ksubthres=.1" in the standard.mos definitions. I haven't run anything in it yet due to needing the libraries merged.
     
  18. eTech

    eTech Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    561
    Likes:
    43
    Hi

    One example for LTSpiceXVII is a missing simulation status that normally shows up in the status bar during a simulation run. This was fixed about Aug 29.

    I'm not going to report on LTspice bugs because that info is best obtained from the LTspice Group.
     
  19. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,213
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    At any rate, I find the new update to be fairly stable and I am happy with the new update. :)
     
  20. simonbramble

    simonbramble Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes:
    63
    Just found the da Vinci background which is kinda cool. Go into Tools -> Control Panel -> Operation tab then select background image
     
  21. jbdwi

    jbdwi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    Hi All,

    I found LTSpice17 crash while strart simulation ( run ).

    Herewith the screenshot pictures of the err msg.
    Pls advice how to solve.

    Thanks n regards / josef

    upload_2016-11-21_4-22-24.png
     

Share This Page