1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Low cost logic analyzer, small in size, big in features!

Discussion in 'Buy, Sell and Trade' started by ikalogic, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. ikalogic

    ikalogic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    834
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    Thanks Stewart for those constructive comments!

    It have been added to the todo list, but there may be some delays, next thing requested by users on the queue is LIN bus decoding!

    Thanks a lot :)
     
  2. ikalogic

    ikalogic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    834
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    Hello Electronics hobbyists!

    You hate delivery costs, right?! Especially for a low cost Logic analyzer!

    During this weekend, the delivery cost for your SCANALOGIC-2 PRO logic analyzer is offered! you just need to use the coupon code "SHIPFREE03" when buying the device from our online store: IKA MARKET - Ikalogic's online market place

    To get more info about the SCANALOGIC-2 logic analyzer, take a look here:
    SCANALOGIC 2: Low cost PC based logic analyzer and signal generator

    Remember, this offer expires on Monday morning (07/02/2011) and is only valid for the SCANALOGIC-2 PRO product.

    Have a nice weekend!
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2011
  3. stewart_bakeruk

    stewart_bakeruk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes:
    0
    Hi Ikalogic,
    Have now been using my LA for a time and am very pleased with it.

    I particularly like the trace decode which makes life much easier on the projects I am developing.

    Might I suggest an improvement ?

    When looking at a long data string it is a bit of a nuisance to have to zoom in and pan to check the data labels and see their values. It should be possible to display the byte values and their decode as the cursor is moved across them when in the un- zoomed state.

    This display could be associated with the cursor or somewhere else on the screen.

    Regards

    Stewart
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. ikalogic

    ikalogic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    834
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Limoges, France

    Great idea! I am noting it :) will work on it soon!
     
  6. ikalogic

    ikalogic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    834
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    Hey guys,

    Just informing you that i added LIN1.x LIN2.x bus decoding feature.

    Now you can look at the commands controlling the electric windows of your car!

    To make sure you have the latest feature, you can download latest version of the software here:
    http://www.ikalogic.com/scanalogic2/downloads.php

    If you have any questions or suggestions, don't hesitate to post it!
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2011
  7. ikalogic

    ikalogic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    834
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    SCANALOGIC-2 just got new Manchester protocol decoding feature! (It's mainly used in wireless transmissions like IR remote controls). This decoder will be the core for a series of other updates to add the support for some IR remote control protocols like Philips RC-5 and Philips RC-6.

    If you think of a protocol you would like to see in SCANALOGIC-2, please let us know, we will be happy to work on it!
     

    Attached Files:

  8. ikalogic

    ikalogic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    834
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    The new version 2.8 is out there with many new feature! While still at the same price of 59€, SCANALOGIC-2 enters the Automobile industry by adding CAN bus decoder feature!

    The CAN bus and LIN bus decoders allow users to interface the SCANALOGIC-2 to cars and motorcycles, and “listen” to the communication buses. The new version of Scanalogic-2 even allows you to decode both CAN and LIN protocols at the same time!
    [​IMG]
    Both decoders can detect and analyze all kind of buses errors like CRC errors and acknowledge errors, enabling the user to debug automobile applications even faster!

    The users who already have the SCANALOGIC-2 only need to update their software for free to benefit from all those new additions!
    [​IMG]

    For more info: SCANALOGIC 2: Low cost PC based logic analyzer and signal generator
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2011
  9. stewart_bakeruk

    stewart_bakeruk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes:
    0
    Is soon soon ?

    :)
    Stewart
     
  10. RMMM

    RMMM New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    357
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    Maryland
    Who is the chick in the ad?
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2011
  11. ikalogic

    ikalogic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    834
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    you want her number? :D
     
  12. bryan

    bryan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    416
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Does the software work correctly on Windows 7 64 bit. Downloaded it and it runs, but without having the tool not sure if it is 100%.
     
  13. ikalogic

    ikalogic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    834
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    @bryan, The tool was developed and tested on a win7 x64 machine :) so yes, it work perfectly on windows 7 64 bits.

    Please don't hesitate if you have any other questions.

    [EDIT] we have a distributor in Canada : http://solarbotics.com/products/46005/

    [EDIT 2] the comparison table in solarbotic is quite discriminative and outdated.. i've contacted them many time to correct it but nothing happens.

    For instance, they show SALEAE as having more decoders than SCANALOGIC, wrong: we have CAN decoder too, and even LIN decoder!
    They say you have to press "Decode to have data display onscreen", wrong! it's as automatic as in Saleae Logic
    They say we support only WIN32, that's wrong, we support win32 and win64

    :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  14. bryan

    bryan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    416
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Thanks, looks like it would be a great tool for the toolbox. Price is not bad either. Think I will go for it.

    p.s. Does it have any overload or safety protection built in to protect it from user error?
     
  15. ikalogic

    ikalogic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    834
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    Well, it has buffer ICs on the input and the output directions, so worst case condition, buffers need to be changed, but the main circuit is protected. :)
     
  16. ikalogic

    ikalogic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    834
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    Dear ETO Members!

    For the Rest of the month of september, we are offering 10% reduction on all our SCANALOGIC-2 PRO devices!
    Just use the voucher code: ETOWEB10 in your order process, and you get the 10% reduction!

    SCANALOGIC-2 remains one of the most competitive 4 channels Logic Analyzers around, with many features being added regularly.

    Offer expires on the 30th of September 2011, don't miss your chance!
    [​IMG]
     
  17. ikalogic

    ikalogic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    834
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    New ScanaStudio software

    Hi guys,

    Just want to tell you that we released a totally new software called ScanaStudio:
    http://www.ikalogic.com/ikalogic-products/scanastudio/
    You can download it for free and try it.

    * If you own a Scanalogic-2, we urge you to switch to this new software as it's much more fluid, has many new features, and is much more user friendly.

    I am leaving you with those screen-shots...

    Oh and we also have a new website, and new knowledge base you might be interested in..
     
  18. cr0sh

    cr0sh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Likes:
    17
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Is the protocol for this device available so that other drivers/software for alternative platforms may be written?
     
  19. ikalogic

    ikalogic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    834
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    Not yet, but an SDK in on the way... :)
     
  20. ikalogic

    ikalogic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    834
    Likes:
    14
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    Small video clip we made about SCANALOGIC-2...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 10, 2013

Share This Page