Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Iontophoresis home-made machine

Status
Not open for further replies.

TsAmE

I suffer from a condition known as Hyperhidrosis (excessive sweating of the hands). I am studying Electrical and Computer Engineering, and this condition has really made it hard for me to handle electronic components, since they usually slip out of my hands.

I came across a video (YouTube - Cure Sweaty Hands, Palms, Hyperhidrosis, Hyperhydrosis) which gave me some hope. This video shows how you can make a home-made iontophoresis machine. These machines help prevent sweating with regular usage.

From the video I saw that a 12V battery was used and the only resistance which was used were stainless steel pans and your body as resistance. I am worried that this set up might harm the heart, since it stops beating at a certain current (not sure what value). Would this set up be safe?

A number of iontophoresis devices have received 510(k) marketing clearance from the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

**broken link removed**

From my reading, some of the FDA approved uses are for post-operative transdermal delivery of pain medication. Another use is for diagnosis of cystic fibrosis. Below is a clip from an article, note the part that mentions induced sweating which seems to be opposite of controlling sweaty palms.