Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with backup circuit for digital clock

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello!
I am building a digital clock using the schematic on this page: https://danyk.cz/hodiny2_en.html
A neat thing to add would be a backup capacitor in case of a power failure, but I have never used these before so I'm not sure how to properly add one to my build. The space available is small width- and heightwise so only a 0.47F fits, but it is however quite long so there is room for up to three 0.47F in a row.
Then again, I read somewhere that it isn't always a good idea to parallell supercaps so I wanted to know your thoughts on the matter.
Also, if my "capacitor circuit" below is correct, how do I calculate a fitting value for R?
As you can see, my idea is to only have the clock circuit backed up and not the actual LED display.

1cap.png
3caps.png

Make it easy on yourself, use CMOS chips for the counters... It will take a large SLA battery to keep those TTL chips going for any length of time...

Another problem is that you will need tri-state buffers between the counters and the displays, if you want to keep the counters running without the displays being powered.

OK, so basically I'm screwed :D
Seriously though, if the displays go powerless the counters stop?
How would such a buffer circuit look?
Btw, my goal with the backup is just to cope with shorter power failures, a couple of hours runtime would be OK for me...