1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Graphic LCD 96x64 w/ SED1565 Controller

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by AtomSoft, May 23, 2009.

  1. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Heh the best way to test a lot at once would be to make a demo/dev board for it something you can simply lay the LCD on and plug n play. The difference here is it doesnt have to be neat since its for testing only. Just make something with some pads where you can have it pressed against even if you have to hold it there heh...
     
  2. ThermalRunaway

    ThermalRunaway New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    895
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    @VISN,

    Yep - totally dead! And, like yours, mine are still in the factory trays. At the time it caused me a big problem because I was still developing my code (and was using SPI for the first time) and I didn't know if my code was bad or if the display was faulty. Eventually I bought a very cheap 7110 off Ebay and took the display out of that. Then I could get my code working with a known-good display.

    Jason is right, the best way to go forwards would be to make up a little test bed for them. Soldering directly to the pins (like I did) does not make for quick, easy or fun testing!

    I can't remember how much current they draw, will have to check when I get home and let you know.

    Brian
     
  3. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    you both gave me a good idea heh since these are replacements why not buy the phone for cheap and test all lcds on the phone itself heh
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. bryan

    bryan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    416
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada

    Hi Jason:

    Are you able to repost the zip. It's corrupted.

     
  6. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Sure just give me a little bit to fully wake up heh
     
  7. bryan

    bryan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    416
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Hi JAson:

    Any luck?
     
  8. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    oh man sorry i must have been extremely busy heh sorry again..
     

    Attached Files:

  9. bryan

    bryan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    416
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Nope, no good. "The zipped file is corrupt or invalid"

    Think I know why. Looks like ET zips the zip file.I used winrar to unzip it and added the zip extension to the file that WinRar extracted. It then opened up and could be unzipped if this makes sense.
     
  10. exdwh

    exdwh New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    I'm assuming that everyone on this forum got their ECM-A0997-2 either from us or a reseller. I had 7 factory cases. I've visually inspected (but not electronically tested) every display prior to shipment. I will admit that there were about 10 out of 2000+ with 'NG' scratched into the film. I think they were all from the same case. It's possible that some tested bad during production and that's why they ended up on the surplus market. I will not knowingly sell defective goods. However, it's simply not practical to test everything that goes out the door. If you can convince me that you've built a valid test fixture and I sold you defective displays, I'll either replace or refund. At this point, I'm almost sold out and don't expect to get any more. I believe there are still more 'out there'.

    --David (exdwh on eBay)
     
  11. DirtyLude

    DirtyLude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes:
    56
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    ^ I got mine from you. Also got your tac buttons. Nice.

    All the LCD's I've tried (about 4 from my lot of 10) have worked fine. That's not saying others might not be faulty, but mine so far have been good.
     
  12. ThermalRunaway

    ThermalRunaway New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    895
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi David. Yes I think I did get mine from you actually, but I'd need to check back through my history on Ebay to confirm that.

    I've only tried three of the LCDs so far, and I was basing my statement "it looks like they're all faulty" purely on the fact that I had 3/3 failures. But I don't actually know that they're all faulty.

    I need to come up with a better way of testing them before I go any further, because soldering directly to the connector is no fun at all. Once I've come up with a more acceptable method of interfacing with them I'll test them all and see what happens. I'm not going to bother about asking for money back though - they were pretty cheap to be honest, I knew it was a risk when I was buying them. But I'll let you know the result just to satisfy interest.

    Brian
     
  13. picstart

    picstart New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    circle drawing code doesn't recognize aspect ratio

    Coders have not fully grasped bresenham's algorithm
    Coders in a drive to weld code to specific processors and to maximize performance often destroy the mathematical symmetry.
    The code below is for a 7110 with a non square pixel 6x5 aspect ratio
    and the radius is capped at 48 pixels (nokia 7110 is 96x65)
    Failure to reflect the aspect ratio results in oval looking circles.
    Most lcd's don't have square nxn pixels so circle routines fail to reflect the aspect ratio
    This code below adheres more closely to the mathematical theory and will produce well proportioned circles if the aspect ratio is set correctly
    Notes
    pen_size is an integer and is the pixel with of the pen
    solid is true if the circle is filled in
    set_clr 1 is the pixel is set 0 the pixel is cleared

    Code (text):
    void lcd_circle(int8 x_ctr,int8 y_ctr,int8 radius,int8 pen_size,int8 solid,int8 set_clr)
    {
    int8 x,y,r,x1,y1;

    signed int16 delta;


    // The axis is shrunk to reflect the aspect ratio
    // this uses bresenham's algorithm
    // theory
    // 0=x^2+y^2-r^2 is true circle centered at 0,0
    // error is x^2+y^2-r^2
    // looking at north to north east octant
    // pixels are * 0
    //              0
    // algorithm chooses pixel due east or south east
    // * has the coord (x,y) both 0 pixels have an x coord of x+1
    //   mid pt has coord of (x+1,y+1/2)
    //   error is (x+1)^2+(y+1/2)^2 -r^2
    //   error >0 draw south east ( x+1,y-1)  pixel   else draw east pixel (x+1,y)
    //   now we can compute the error in advance for the next iteration
    //   change in error from (x+1,y-1/2) to (x+2,y-1/2) is 2x+3
    //                        (x+1,y-1/2) to  (x+2,y-3/2)  2x+3 -2y+2
    //   Note: delta is the error in the code below
    //         if delta is <0 then we decrement y
    r=48;
    if (radius<48) r=radius;  // max radius is 48 pixels
    if (solid) pen_size=1;
    for (r=radius-pen_size;r<=radius;r++)
    {
    x=0;
    y=r;

    // assume last step was to south east pixel from (0,r)  or 2*0-2*r+5
      delta=(long)5-(long)2*(long)r;
    loop:
     
        y1=(long)y*(long)5/(long)6; /// aspect ratio
        x1=(long)x*(long)5/(long)6; /// aspect ratio
      if(solid)
       {
       
        lcd_line(x_ctr+x, y_ctr-y1, x_ctr+x, y_ctr+y1, set_clr);
        lcd_line(x_ctr-x, y_ctr-y1, x_ctr-x, y_ctr+y1, set_clr);
        lcd_line(x_ctr+y, y_ctr-x1, x_ctr+y, y_ctr+x1, set_clr);
        lcd_line(x_ctr-y, y_ctr-x1, x_ctr-y, y_ctr+x1, set_clr);
         
       }
       else
       {
        lcd_setpixel(x_ctr+x,y_ctr+y1,set_clr);
        lcd_setpixel(x_ctr+x,y_ctr-y1,set_clr);
        lcd_setpixel(x_ctr-x,y_ctr+y1,set_clr);
        lcd_setpixel(x_ctr-x,y_ctr-y1,set_clr);

        lcd_setpixel(x_ctr+y,y_ctr+x1,set_clr);
        lcd_setpixel(x_ctr+y,y_ctr-x1,set_clr);
        lcd_setpixel(x_ctr-y,y_ctr+x1,set_clr);
        lcd_setpixel(x_ctr-y,y_ctr-x1,set_clr);
       }
     
       
       
       }
         
        if (delta<0) delta=delta+(long)2*(long)x+(long)3;
        else          {delta=delta+(long)2*((long)x-(long)y)+(long)5;y=y-1;}
         
       
        x=x+1;
     if (x<=y) goto loop;
     }  
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2009
  14. JJOSE2007

    JJOSE2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    latest drivers

    Hi AtomSoft

    I am looking for your latest driver for the Nokia 7110:

    1>for hi-tech C18 or microchip c18
    as well as
    2>for the ccs compiler

    looking into this forum get confused from were to get latest versions

    thanks in advance and congratulations for the great job

    jjose

    additionally, do you have drivers for nokia lcd of 6100 ( controller S1D15G10 )???
     
  15. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    I have both ... The Nokia 6100 is on my blog... the Nokia 7110 is lost. Ill find latest and also post on my site but later today ok
     
  16. JJOSE2007

    JJOSE2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    thanks a lot

    waiting for your post

    jjose
     
  17. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Heh sorry. im looking through it all tons of projects ive done and never posted... like a few hundred ... the issue is non are named good :(

    Here it is:
    You can download from here or from Attachment...
    RapidShare: 1-CLICK Web hosting - Easy Filehosting

    Folders:
    ..SOURCE - Has Source C files and such
    ..Datasheet - Has the data sheet
    ..Schematic and Eagle Library - has well the schematic and eagle library and custom pinout picture:

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  18. bryan

    bryan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    416
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Jason:

    Can the LCD take 5v or will it blow?
     
  19. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    It can handle 5v perfect so far...
     
  20. bryan

    bryan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    416
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Thanks Jason. Appreciate it.
     

Share This Page