Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electronically Impulsing a pendulum for a clock

Status
Not open for further replies.

markelectro

Hello
I am very new to electronics but I do love for clocks especially master clocks or electrically driven clocks.I have long wished to create a clock of my own.

This clock would be using both mechanical and electrical component's first step of my project is the Pendulum.

I have a std. Master clock pendulum with a heavy bob. I would like to impulse this pendulum electronically.The pendulum would be fixed by a suspension at the top and would be free to swing.

The question is what options do I have to keep this pendulum moving in a precise motion?

I see this as the first step and I will take one step at a time.so if you can advise me on the possibilities I would be very grateful.

Cheers Mark

I was thinking of an optical sensor which detects the passage of the pendulum. The pendulum could break a light beam, causing an electromagnet to energise. If positioned carefully, a ferrous or magnetic object on the pendulum's arm would experience a small pull, and the pendulum would receive a small top-up of kinetic energy.

You would need to do this only once each cycle of the pendulum (not in both directions), meaning that some method to determine the direction of the pendulum's swing, and enable the electromagnet only on clockwise (or counter-clockwise) passes.