Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electronic Cigarette Smoking Machine Controller Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am an Analytical Chemist working at the University of California San Francisco. We are currently funded by the FDA to study electronic cigarettes.

I have built an e-cigarette smoking machine that consists of a custom built controller that sends 12 V dc to a 3-way valve that directs a vacuum to the e-cigarette vaporizer and at the same time triggers a relay to direct the current from a constant voltage power supply to the coils in the vaporizer. The controller sends the 12 volt 4 second long pulse every 30 seconds to simulate e-cigarette smoking. The vapor is then collected in a series of gas washing bottles for chemical analysis.

I am looking for a better and cheaper controller. Does anybody know of an off the shelf controller that will deliver variable length pulses at variable timed intervals? Ideally, I would like to have 2, 3, 4, and 6 second long 12 volt pulses at 15, 30, 60 and 90 second intervals. It would be really great if there was a digital read out of the timing. I have attached a pictures of the smoking machine in action, the relay and the valve with the e-cigarette clearomizer attached.
I am using a 30 watt power supply to power the coil in the e-cigarette.

Attachments

• Ecig Smoking Machine.jpg
    Ecig Smoking Machine.jpg
    547.2 KB · Views: 584
  • Relay.jpg
    Relay.jpg
    177.5 KB · Views: 333
  • Valve.jpg
    Valve.jpg